Arielle Cowie

Arielle-Cowie_333x555-300x500

As I continue with my research on the different ethnicities and the beautiful young minority women who play this sport, I can’t help but smile. I do have to admit, though, it gets a little tough researching these girls. Not because none of them play, because trust me, I’ve found plenty to start my own magazine. But because there is not much attention placed on them.

Arielle Cowie, a former Ohio State University field hockey standout, grew up in Trinidad and Tobago where she learned how to play hockey at just a young age. There, a heavy emphasis of stick handeling is placed on the young girls, whereas here, fitness is heavily placed on the girls. However, Cowie adjusted well to the fast-paced American style of play.

She actually was able to learn the style of play by participating in a qualifying match to the World Cup against the United States of America Women’s field hockey team. Although they lost 6-0 in a disappointing setback, Cowie was able to learn their style and apply it to her 4 years at Ohio State. In fact, that match actually strengthened her mentally and physically.

At age 11, she began playing field hockey and from there, she followed one of her teammates to Ohio State, who is famous for recruiting Trinidad players, and quickly adjusted from playing forward to playing on the midfield line (as the professionals call it, the “heart” of the team is the midfield line).

Since playing for college, she has become much quicker and more aggressive. “If I see the ball, I go for it; I do not care who’s in my way,” she said, laughing. “I’m going to that ball; I’m sorry if I throw you to the side,” Cowie said in an interview with The Columbus Dispatch.

Due to her quickness, intensity, and outstanding stick skills,that she developed at a young age, she was invited back to Trinidad and Tobago to represent them in the Fall against Argentina but declined so that could focus on her final season as a Buckeye.

She has made a lasting impression for the Buckeyes, and I am sure this is not the end of her legacy. She finished the season, and her four years, playing in 76 games and starting 66, adn was named to Second-Team All Big Ten.

Field hockey is so different in the United States. After all of the stories I’ve read about international athletes and players in America, it makes me question just how much we push field hockey (to those who wanna play it). I know a lot of other countries focus more so on stick skills, and they really emphasize grooming their own children and culture into strong field hockey players.

I mean, eventually, given the child has a choice, she / he will go to another country to play or maybe stay in their own country. But I can’t help but think of the lack of spirit or support we have hear in America regarding field hockey. Instead of grooming our kids and making them some of the top competitors, we find already groomed men / women elsewhere. The work of someone else so to speak. Why is America so lazy in this sport?

Leave a comment